Spring 2012: Intern Amy Sawyer in the Gardiner Art Gallery

Three interns were working with the OSU Museum of Art staff this spring: Natalie Hardesty, Sara Roberts, and this week’s author, Amy Sawyer. Amy is graduating this spring with a major in art history, and has a particular interest in Islamic and Contemporary art. After graduation, she is beginning a summer internship at the Philbrook Museum of Art in the Education Department. She plans to pursue a Masters in Middle East Studies. Her internship this spring involved installing exhibitions in the Gardiner Art Gallery, working with permanent collection works on display around campus, and helping staff and document opening receptions and other events.

As an art history major, I am grateful to have had the opportunity to gain experience as the OSU Gardiner Gallery intern this semester. This is my last semester at OSU and it’s been the best way for me to discover what a career in a museum or in a gallery is truly like—from condition reports, organizing, hanging and exhibiting many different types of art, serving food and drinks at receptions, and updating and creating labels for the art that is in the Dean’s office. I have really enjoyed the professional atmosphere and the wonderful people I’ve worked alongside.

Amy Sawyer, Spring 2012 OSUMA intern for the Gardiner Art Gallery, working on the exhibition "Lubna Agha: Points of Reference."

I am so grateful for the ability to extend my interest in art outside of the classroom and into the gallery. My favorite part was that I was no longer confined to analyzing art in a book or on a screen rather, I was able observe the art firsthand and interact with the artists and the viewers. This experience has further solidified my decision to pursue a career in art history.

I am especially grateful to have had valuable time with Gardiner Gallery Manager Shiyuan Yuan, Jordan Griffis, and Topher Lundell to ask questions about working in a museum. Their experience in excellent handling of art and in depth knowledge of offering art to the OSU and Stillwater community has given me a unique perspective on how inexplicably fulfilling this kind of work can be. I am only one of three interns this semester, but I leave the gallery with the knowledge that I contributed to something really great.

About osucurator

Louise Siddons is Associate Professor of Art History at Oklahoma State University and founding curator of the Oklahoma State University Museum of Art. She maintains this blog as a record of her students' work with the Museum's permanent collection as well as more generally with topics related to museum studies.
This entry was posted in internships, student writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

