Please Welcome: New Staff Member Carla Shelton

I am thrilled to be writing this introduction to a blog post written by our new art registrar, Carla Shelton. Carla brings an incredible range of experience to the OSU Museum of Art along with her academic credentials. In just two weeks, she has begun familiarizing herself with the collection, streamlining registration processes, and helping finalize the design of the Postal Plaza Gallery. In this week’s post, she shares a little more about her background and experience—and her excitement about joining the OSUMA team!

I am really excited about getting in on the ground floor of the new OSU Museum of Art project. I see this Museum as a great asset to the OSU campus, the city of Stillwater, and the larger surrounding areas.

OSUMA art registrar Carla Shelton.

I guess I will start with some general information about myself. I am originally from a rural community in Southwest Iowa. I received my B.A. at Northwestern College in Orange City, IA where I double majored in History and Sociology. My first taste of museum work happened while I was an undergrad. I was fortunate enough to intern at the Plymouth County Historical Society in Le Mars, IA, where I worked with the Registrar and the Exhibits Coordinator learning the ins and outs of the museum field.

After college, I moved to Texas, for what I thought was going to be a brief curatorial internship at the Texas Heritage Museum in Hillsboro, TX; however, I stayed in sunny Texas a bit longer. When I figured out the museum profession was something I wanted to pursue I applied and was accepted into the Museum Science Master’s program at Texas Tech University.

During my graduate school training I had the opportunity to work with several different collections including textiles, ethnology, natural science, archives, and art. I completed my Master’s degree by finishing a 6 month curatorial internship at the Silent Wings Museums in Lubbock, TX, a museum dedicated to World War II glider pilots.

After graduation, and for the last two years, I have worked as the Collections Assistant at the Texas Ranger Hall of Fame and Museum in Waco, TX. I helped manage their large collection consisting of multiple leather goods, various firearms, and a significant western art collection. Besides collections work, I assisted in renovating existing exhibits and worked with donors, lenders, and visitors.

And now I am here in Stillwater, eager to get to work on the wonderful collections OSU has amassed. I look forward to making the collection more accessible to the OSU community and to the public. I can’t wait to see what the future holds for me at OSU.

About osucurator

Louise Siddons is Associate Professor of Art History at Oklahoma State University and founding curator of the Oklahoma State University Museum of Art. She maintains this blog as a record of her students' work with the Museum's permanent collection as well as more generally with topics related to museum studies.
This entry was posted in museum news, staff writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

