Please Welcome: Mary Kathryn Moeller, Graduate Research Assistant at the OSUMA

This fall, we welcomed the inaugural class of the MA program in Art History at OSU. To my sincere delight, we were able to offer two of the incoming students Graduate Research Assistantships, which offer a stipend and tuition waiver to students in exchange for part-time work at the OSU Museum of Art. This week and next, our GRAs—Mary Kathryn Moeller and Krystle Brewer—will introduce themselves to you. Stop by and say “hi” in person!

Coming from a long line of OSU graduates, I am thrilled to begin the journey towards my MA in art history at Oklahoma State.  The chance to work as a Graduate Research Assistant is a dream and I am already learning so much about museum practices and our impressive collection.

2012-13 Graduate Research Assistant Mary Kathryn Moeller.

To give you a little bit of background about me: I am originally from Little Rock, AR and attended the University of Arkansas.  I received my Bachelor’s in History in 2000 and stayed the following year to earn my Master’s of Arts in Teaching.

A job fair at the U of A introduced me to the town of Jenks, OK.  I was at hired Jenks High School and have been there for the last 11 years.  I taught a number of different courses but it wasn’t until 2007 that I found my niche.  I was asked to take over the AP Art History class and had to begin the laborious task of reading the textbook cover to cover and teaching myself all that I could, as fast as I could.  Those many long nights reading and researching quickly turned into a new found passion.

A colleague suggested I look into a grant program called Fund for Teachers which allowed classroom teachers to choose their own professional development activities.  I applied for a grant and was awarded the chance to study Contemporary Art in London at Sotheby’s Institute of Art.  The month in London was an absolute chance of a lifetime and I came away with a desire to continue my education.

In 2010 I was selected as a fellow by the Oklahoma Visual Arts Coalition for the inaugural year of the Oklahoma Arts Writing and Curatorial Fellowship.  Through the program I worked on my art writing skills while being mentored some of the best critics, curators, and academics from around the country.  I also had the chance to get to know a number of outstanding art professionals, including our very own Louise Siddons, Curator of Collections.  A year later I learned about the new MA program and decided to take a leap of faith and apply.

I am so happy to be a part of OSU and excited for both my studies and my work with the OSUMA.  I am looking forward to what the future holds as I begin this new journey.

 

About osucurator

Louise Siddons is Associate Professor of Art History at Oklahoma State University and founding curator of the Oklahoma State University Museum of Art. She maintains this blog as a record of her students' work with the Museum's permanent collection as well as more generally with topics related to museum studies.
This entry was posted in museum news, staff writing, student writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

