Please Welcome: Krystle Brewer, Graduate Research Assistant at the OSUMA

This fall, we welcomed the inaugural class of the MA program in Art History at OSU. To my sincere delight, we were able to offer two of the incoming students Graduate Research Assistantships, which offer a stipend and tuition waiver to students in exchange for part-time work at the OSU Museum of Art. Last week I introduced you to Mary Kathryn Moeller—and this week’s post is by Krystle Brewer. If you haven’t yet, please do come by and say “hi” to Krystle in person!

I am so excited and honored to be involved with the opening of the new museum in Postal Plaza. Over the last couple weeks I have been becoming familiar with OSU’s collection and I am looking forward to being able to assist in showing its highlights at the first opening. The collection has great pieces for the education of OSU students and for Stillwater residents to enjoy as well. Soon, we will start doing the fun part of researching and writing about pieces in the permanent collection.

2012-13 Graduate Research Assistant Krystle Brewer.

For a little about my background: I graduated from Oklahoma City University with a Bachelors in Studio Art in 2009. While I was pursuing this degree I was fortunate enough to get an internship with the Oklahoma City Museum of Art where I got my first introduction to the behind-the-scenes workings of a museum. Shortly after the completion of my degree I received another internship, this time with the Oklahoma Visual Arts Coalition. This experience instilled in me a new love for non-profit work, which led me to my most recent job role as Project Manager for the Cultural Development Corporation. I find the way that artists and art advocates can band together for the purpose of promoting the arts in Oklahoma fascinating and exciting. The passion and capabilities of our artists, advocates, and administrators have endless potential to create livelier art scenes within our state, to make it a more culturally rich place to live, and to build meaningful connections with individuals and institutions outside of our borders.

This is certainly an exciting time for OSU, its students, and the city residents. I feel so fortunate to have a role in the opening of this new museum space that will be such a contribution to its surroundings and an expansion of the arts in Stillwater.

About osucurator

Louise Siddons is Associate Professor of Art History at Oklahoma State University and founding curator of the Oklahoma State University Museum of Art. She maintains this blog as a record of her students' work with the Museum's permanent collection as well as more generally with topics related to museum studies.
This entry was posted in museum news, staff writing, student writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

