Hello, Oklahoma! From our new museum director, Victoria Berry

One week ago, we welcomed Victoria — Vicky — Berry to the OSUMA as our new director. Vicky comes to us from Utah State University, where she directed the Nora Eccles Harrison Museum of Art. After a search process that took most of 2012, I was thrilled when Vicky accepted OSU’s offer! She brings experience, creativity, and energy to the museum project. In this week’s post, Vicky shares an inside look at her transition to Oklahoma State.

I’ve been on the OSU campus a week and I’m already feeling at home. There have been many meetings, but more importantly I am getting to know the OSUMA staff and the many important people who have contributed to making the OSUMA a reality. I am so grateful for all the energy, passion and commitment that is firmly in place at OSU. I am also thankful for the wonderful reception hosted by President and Mrs. Hargis in Oklahoma City at [Artspace] at Untitled after our Art Advisory Committee quarterly meeting. There will be more opportunities for me to meet all of you in the coming months. Thank you all for such a warm welcome. And, oh yes, my first “Go Pokes!”

When I left Logan, Utah on January 25th we had a foot of snow on the ground and had subzero temperatures (in the double digits) for most of January! Oklahoma feels like spring comparatively. Hopefully, I’ll remember the snow when our temperatures here in Stillwater reach triple digits and it’s humid. My father was a meteorologist for the U.S. Air Force and everywhere we lived we seemed to break weather records. I hope that will not be a legacy I will share with Oklahoma.

Just in case someone is interested in the status of my “orange” collection, you might like to see the first installment gifted to Tom (my husband) and I from our realtors Rosetta Heppel and Tana Rutan from Century 21. Tom and I couldn’t be happier with our new home and these two ladies have made our transition here remarkably easy. Here is a picture—it speaks for itself.

Vicky-orange

Our household goods come later this month. Tom will remain in Logan at Utah State University until the end of the semester and we sell our home (hopefully). Moving is a stressful event, but more so for my cat Misia who for now cowers under the covers on our inflatable bed –in lieu of being under the bed.  The lump you see in the picture is the cat. I’ll submit a new picture in a few months, to prove her existence when she decides to come out from under the covers.

Vicky-cat

I’m very happy to be here and to see the Postal Plaza Gallery in process. It will be a wonderful space to expand our arts programming and bring our collection to one location for all to experience and see.  It will be worth the wait.

Would you like to meet Vicky? The OSU uclub is hosting her as a special guest this Friday, February 8, 5:30-7:00 in the Carreker Lounge at the Atherton Hotel. Everyone is welcome; you do not have to be a uclub member to attend!

About osucurator

Louise Siddons is Associate Professor of Art History at Oklahoma State University and founding curator of the Oklahoma State University Museum of Art. She maintains this blog as a record of her students' work with the Museum's permanent collection as well as more generally with topics related to museum studies.
This entry was posted in museum news, staff writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

