Fall 2012: Intern Casey Pankey in the Gardiner Gallery

Casey Pankey was our Fall 2012 Gardiner Gallery undergraduate intern. In this week’s post, she reflects on her experience working at the OSU Museum of Art.

My name is Casey Pankey and I am seeking a BFA in studio art with a focus on sculpture and a minor in art history. With graduation only a few short semesters away, I wanted to get as much experience as possible. I was already very curious about the inner operations of a gallery and when the opportunity for this internship presented itself, I jumped right in! This would be the perfect chance to solidify my decision to pursue a career with a gallery or museum.

I am completely thrilled that I had this opportunity which has allowed me to have the hands-on experience that has taught me so much. Not only did I learn about the installation process, I have been exposed to a side of art I did not see before. When creating works in the studio, I am more aware now of its potential existence in a gallery. I think “Who will be handling this piece? Will it be possible for others to install easily? How will it look with other works?”

OSUMA intern Casey Pankey installing "The Influence of Oklahoma" in the Gardiner Gallery, August 2012.

OSUMA intern Casey Pankey installing “The Influence of Oklahoma” in the Gardiner Gallery, August 2012.

Now when visiting a gallery, I find myself studying the work more thoroughly. I become greatly interested in the process that the artist went through to make the work. Also, I am more aware of how important public relations are. Formulating solid relationships with collectors and artists is a never ending endeavor. I am very grateful to have worked with the gallery staff. Shawn Yuan, Carla Shelton, Jordan Griffis and Louise Siddons have all taught me more than I could have expected and guided me this semester. It is an experience that I would not trade for anything. Above all, at the end of the day, it is incredibly rewarding to stand back and see a collection before you and know that you helped arrange that.

Each semester, the OSUMA offers three undergraduate internship positions. Applications for these positions are announced on the museum’s website.

About osucurator

Louise Siddons is Associate Professor of Art History at Oklahoma State University and founding curator of the Oklahoma State University Museum of Art. She maintains this blog as a record of her students' work with the Museum's permanent collection as well as more generally with topics related to museum studies.
This entry was posted in internships. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

